Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

November 20, 2017

SUNY Oswego is StormReadyŽ

The Oswego County Legislature's Public Safety Committee recognized SUNY Oswego on demonstrating its commitment to emergency preparedness, education and safety, and receiving its StormReadyŽ designation from the National Weather Service (NWS). Ninety-eight percent of presidentially-declared disasters across the country are weather-related and account for approximately 500 deaths and $15 billion in damages each year. The NWS StormReadyŽ program designates communities, organizations, and other groups that are better prepared to save lives from the onslaught of severe weather through advanced planning and education practices. Communities across Oswego County are susceptible to a wide variety of severe weather events, during which certain preparedness and communication standards are critical to saving lives. SUNY Oswego met a series of these standards to earn their NWS StormReadyŽ certification and now joins eight other colleges and universities in the state to receive the designation. Pictured from left are James Karasek, District 22; David M. Holst, District 4; Richard Kline, District 12; Oswego County Emergency Services Program Coordinator Terry Bennett; Committee Chairman James Weatherup; SUNY Oswego Police Chief John Rossi; SUNY Oswego Assistant Police Chief Kevin Velzy; Committee Vice Chairwoman Margaret Kastler, District 1; Frank Castiglia, Jr., District 25; Milferd Potter, District 2; and Tim Stahl, District 20.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?